Group Accounts

A group account is a single Widgit Online account with multiple users, making it easy to work collaboratively and share documents. Users can have different roles and permissions assigned to them.

There are three different user levels:

  • Administrators
  • Managers
  • Users

You can assign user type and permissions as you see fit and customise the account to your needs.

There can be any combination of user types and permissions within a group. For example, every member of the group could be an administrator, or there could be a single administrator and a mix of managers and users.

Administrators

The Administrator level is the most powerful. Administrators will be required to add other users to the Group Account and are responsible for managing the subscription. Administrators have a complete overview of the group account. They can assign Users to Managers and set permissions for any Manager or User.

A recommended Administrator for a school's group account would be someone who is easy to contact and who uses Widgit Online regularly, such as a teacher or a teaching assistant rather than an off-site IT support company.

Managers

Managers can create and manage a number of users up to a limit allocated to them by an Administrator. Managers have an overview of every user they are responsible for and can set permissions for them too.

The Manager level may be useful to a school where teachers can be allocated the number of users in their class by an Administrator. Unlike Administrators who can see every user and their documents, Managers only see their own users, which makes viewing files and folders much easier to manage.

Users

Users have limited access, which is dependent on what they have been granted by their Manager or an Administrator. This level is ideal for students. A Manager or Administrator can decide which students are allowed to create documents, publish documents or have their own My Documents folder.

Permissions

Administrators
Administrators have the highest level of access. They can:

  • Create and edit documents in:
    • My Documents
    • Shared Folders
    • Any User's or Manager's folders
  • Publish and unpublish any document
  • Manage wordlists for themselves and the group
  • Browse all unpublished files
  • Browse all published documents

Managers
Managers have the second highest level of access. They can:

  • Create and edit documents in:
    • My Documents
    • Shared Folders
    • Any of their Users' folders
  • Publish and unpublish their own and their managed Users' documents
  • Manage their own wordlists
  • Browse their own and their Users' unpublished files
  • Browse all published documents

Users
Users have the most basic level of access. They can:

  • Create and edit documents in:
    • My Documents (if they have a My Documents folder)
    • Shared Folders¬†(that they have permission to access)
  • Publish and unpublish their own documents (only if they have permission to do so)
  • Browse their own and shared unpublished files
  • Browse all published documents

Shared Folders

This special folder is unique to group accounts. It can be used by all users to share files and folders within a group account. This is particularly useful for browsing and managing the work of users without needing to access any external locations such as a server system.

More on Shared Folders