Creating Group Users

create users

You can create new users on the Group Settings page. More on Group Settings.

Administrators and Managers can create new Users.

  • Administrators can create users up to the maximum number of users allowed for the group type. They can create and edit any user type, including Managers and other Administrators.

  • Managers can create Users up to their allowed user allocation. They can only edit their own Users.

You can create users manually or for larger groups you may want to create users via CSV (Comma Separated Values) import. See below for details.

We recommend that teachers and parents are set up as either Managers or Administrators
and students should be set up as Users.

Create a User

new user To create a new User click the New User button. Then enter:

Display Name This name is displayed in the Browse pages, so you may not want to add surnames for younger users.
Username This is the name that Users will log in with, and will make up part of the web address for their published files.
Email This is optional for Users, but can be entered if you want them to be able to reset their own passwords.
Password This is the password for the User.
Telephone This is an optional telephone number for technical support.
Has their own 'My Documents' folder Tick this to create a My Documents folder.
Can publish documents Tick this to allow the User to publish documents to the internet.
Can change their own email address Tick this to allow the User the option to edit the email address linked to their account.
Manager Assign the user a manager from the drop down list.

create user Click Create User to complete.

Note: Please read the e-Safety Guidance before setting up new users.

Create a Manager

new manager To create a Manager, click the New Manager button. Then enter:

Display Name This name is displayed in the Browse pages.
Username This is the name that Managers will log in with, and will make up part of the web address for their published files.
Email This is optional for Managers, but can be entered if you want them to be able to reset their own passwords.
Password This is the password for the Manager.
Telephone This is an optional telephone number for technical support.
Can publish documents Tick this to allow the Manager to publish documents to the internet.
User limit This is the maximum number of Users that this Manager can create and manage.

create manager Click Create Manager to complete.

Note: Only Administrators can create Managers.

Create a Administrator

new administrator To create an Administrator, click the New Administrator button. Then enter:

Display Name This name is displayed in the Browse pages.
Username This is the name that Administrator will log in with, and will make up part of the web address for their published files.
Email This is required for Administrators.
Password This is the password for the Administrator.
Telephone This is an optional telephone number for technical support.
Permissions Administrators always have the right to publish documents and require their own 'My Documents' folder. They can also change their own email address at any time. Administrators can also receive notifications about Group Subscriptions if required.

create Administrator Click Create Admin to complete.

Note: Only Administrators can create other Administrators.

Edit a User

To edit a user, click on their name in the User list.
From here you can see and edit all their details, including an option to reset their password.

If you want to remove a user's 'My Documents' folder, you must move or delete any documents they have first.

 WARNING: The username is part of the User's public web address. If you change the username, the address of all of their pages will change. So if they have sent a link to anyone or published it on another website, these links will stop working.

Changing Roles

You can change the role of any user in the group. Note: Only Administrators can change user roles.


Change Manager to Administrator by:

  • Clicking the  Make Admin icon in the Managers list.
    or
  • Editing the Manager and selecting ‘admin’ from the ‘Role’ drop-down.

Note:You will need to add an email address for a Manager before they can be changed into an Administrator.


Change Administrator to Manager by:

  • Clicking the  Unmake Admin icon in the Administrators list.
    or
  • Editing the Administrator and selecting ‘manager’ from the ‘Role’ drop-down.

Note: You cannot do this if there is only one Administrator, and you cannot change your own user role.


Change User to Manager by:

  • Clicking the  Make Manager icon in the Users list.
    or
  • Editing the User and selecting ‘manager’ from the ‘Role’ drop-down.

Note: You then have to edit the Manager to set a User Limit.


Change Manager to User by:

  • Editing the Manager and selecting ‘user’ from the ‘Role’ drop-down.

Note: You cannot change a Manager that has Users assigned to them. You must reallocate the Users before you can change the Manager into a User.

Reallocate Users

You can reallocate users from one Manager or Administrator to another. This can be useful for example, when students move class at the end of a year.

You can reallocate all users or you can reallocate individual users.


To Reallocate by Manager or Administrator:

  • Click on the reallocate link in the Managers or Administrators list to bring up a list of all of their Users. You can use the drop-down options to select a new Manager for individual Users, or use the Reallocate all option.


To Reallocate by User:

  • Click on the User's name in the Users list. Then in the Manager field, select a new Manager from the drop-down.

Locking Accounts

You can lock a User's account. This prevents the User from logging into Widgit Online. This could be useful, for example, if a user has been writing inappropriate content.


To Lock a User:

  • Click on the User's name in the Users list.
  • In the Login field, tick the Account is locked, preventing login checkbox.

locking When a User is locked, you will see a blue padlock icon in the User list.


To Unlock a User:

  • Untick the Account is locked, preventing login checkbox. Once a User's account is unlocked, they can log into Widgit Online with the same username and password as before.


Locked by Widgit

locking Widgit monitors the images that are uploaded to Widgit Online. If inappropriate images are detected, or there is a serious problem with an account then the account will be locked. This is indicated by a red padlock icon.

If an account has been locked, Widgit will contact the User or the group's Administrator.

CSV (Comma Separated Values) Import

You can add, edit or delete multiple Admins, Managers and Users at the same time using the CSV import feature. This is located at the bottom of the group settings page.

Import Export CSV

The first step is to export the group users to CSV. This will download a file called group.csv. The file will contain all of the current group user data such as username, display name and email. It also contains permissions for the users, for example can they publish documents or change their email address.

Editing a CSV file

Notes for editing a CSV file:

  • Any users not present in this file will NOT be changed when it is imported.
  • Make sure any Managers or Admins already exist BEFORE trying to assign them as a Manager in this file.
  • You cannot create a new Manager and assign them to a user in one go via CSV.
  • Blank rows, and any row with a hash (#) in the first column, are ignored.
  • Usernames cannot be changed via CSV upload.
  • Changes to Users are processed first (in the order they appear in this file), followed by User deletions, then new user creation.
  • To add a User, simply fill in a new row for them. Admins must have an email address set.
  • To change or set a User's password, put the new password in the 'password' column.
  • To delete a User, enter their username in the 'delete' column.

Tip: If you assign a Manager to a User when both are created in the same CSV import, the Manager will not be assigned. You can run the CSV file through a second time to assign the Manager.